How we do it


At Little Acorns, we follow the curriculum guidelines set out in the Early Years Foundation Stage, typically abbreviated to EYFS, a UK Government Framework that sets out welfare and development goals for children aged 5 and under.

The main principles on which the Early Years Foundation Stage is based are:

  • A Unique Child

  • Positive Relationships

  • Enabling Environments

  • Learning and Development

There are three prime areas and four specific areas of learning and development.

Prime Areas

  • Personal, social and emotional development

  • Communication and Language

  • Physical Development

Specific Areas

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design